One More Night With the Frogs or Candida Annihilation? Your Choice

I used to be very skeptical about many things. I was never one to buy into the “organic” hype, especially because it was more expensive. I didn’t understand chiropractic services, so I never desired to go. I didn’t really understand how sugar could be dangerous except for tooth decay or people with diabetes. GMO food, who cares? Why do I need to know? I didn’t understand why different people were on different eating plans or diets. As I contemplate the current health problems people have, I think about our diets and how we process or modify our foods. Did these health issues exist before? When did they start becoming more prevalent?

About a year and a half ago, my view of eating and diets changed drastically. I ate fairly healthy already, but when I suspected I had Candida overgrowth, I had to reevaluate my eating. I would have to cut carbs, sugar, caffeine, and dairy. When faced with this “giant”, I had a crisis of belief. “Was this condition real or imagined? Could I really diligently follow a Candida diet? Could I afford it financially? What if I lose too much weight? Will I have the time to prepare all my food? Can I get away with following the diet half-way?” I came up with a myriad of excuses all because I didn’t want to do this. What I came to realize is that my body has a threshold. It can only sort out a certain amount of toxins, whether they come from food, emotional stress, or physical stress. I had to lighten the load my body was under.

Hear me on this: If you have Candida overgrowth and you want to be healthy, it will require nothing less than a full commitment to the diet. No excuses. The minute you come up with an excuse, reject it, and move on. If you give an excuse validity, it will keep you from getting well. If you remain unwell, even if you can tolerate it now, over time Candida will become parasitic and travel all over your body. I have seen others suffer more as Candida spread to their lungs and other parts of their body. It will do a lot of damage. It is best to get a handle on it sooner rather than later. You may go through a “die off” period that makes you feel worse as the Candida is dieing in your body; however, over time, that will diminish and you will feel better.

Have you heard of the expression “one more night with the frogs”? In Exodus, Moses asked Pharaoh to let his people go (out of slavery and out of Egypt). Moses threatened that if Pharaoh refused, the Lord would send a plague of frogs. Frogs would be everywhere. They would be in their houses, in their beds, in their ovens, etc. As you probably know, Pharaoh refused and there were frogs everywhere. It was so bad that Pharaoh summoned Moses to come back and get rid of the frogs. Pharaoh decided he would agree to Moses’ terms. Here’s the passage:

Pharaoh summoned Moses and Aaron and said, ‘Pray to the Lord to take the frogs away from me and my people, and I will let your people go to offer sacrifices to the Lord.’

Moses said to Pharaoh, ‘I leave to you the honor of setting the time for me to pray for you and your officials and your people that you and your houses may be rid of the frogs, except for those that remain in the Nile.’

Tomorrow,’ Pharaoh said.

Moses replied, ‘It will be as you say, so that you may know there is no one like the Lord our God. The frogs will leave you and your houses, your officials and your people; they will remain only in the Nile.’”

Exodus 8:8-11

What? Tomorrow? All I know is that if I had frogs in my bed and in my oven, I would beg animal control to come to my house now. I would probably give them extra incentive to drop everything and rescue me right now! I would not be willing to spend one more night with the frogs, especially jumping on me all night in my bed.

The comparison may seem theatrical, but I know many people who put the diet off, and I was one of them. Why should we spend one more night with the frogs? Wellness can be on the way today and as time passes, there will be no regrets. I doubt as one gets better that anyone will be thinking, “Gee, I really miss those vaginal yeast infections. The head aches, sore throat, extreme fatigue, and anxiety were really beneficial to my life. The bloating made me look better. The brain fog actually added to my work performance. The aches made me feel like I was alive, and I really want the depression back.” Those statements sound crazy, right? We are telling ourselves the same thing when we minimize our condition. Maybe part of it is that our body chemistry starts to change with Candida overgrowth. Candida is “smart”, it changes your thought processes too. The mind/gut connection is strong. Candida will make you crave the foods that feed it. We have to step out of the stronghold and start the healing process. No excuses. One foot in front of the other is the only way to breaking free over time. It starts with a diet change and reducing stress. You can buy this ebook if you need help with diet information https://www.thecandidadiet.com/ultimate-candida-diet/ . You can also find a functional medicine doctor that will help you navigate this journey. I recommend doing both. It is invaluable to have informed support and encouragement during this journey.

Leave a Reply

