Riding The Candida Wave

This was my journal entry I started Monday morning: “After a few weeks of tightening up on the Candida diet, increasing supplements, and a stress decrease, I have made progress. I realized this morning I have not been waking up with a sore throat the past few days. I also realized the pain in my right wrist is gone. Sometimes, I don’t realize the progress I have made right away. It’s usually the absence of pain/inflammation somewhere in the body that reminds me of how well I am doing. Candida can look like arthritis, carpal tunnel, tendonitis, back problems, fibromyalgia, or sinus problems. It just kicks up inflammation in multiple spots of the body. If you are unaware that you have Candida overgrowth, you will be chasing after all these symptoms, trying to ‘put out the fires’ in your body. No treatment will be effective until properly diagnosed and treated holistically.”

By Tuesday night, my body started to take a turn. After getting home from taking my kids to robotics class and running errands, I cleaned our bathrooms. When I went into the kitchen and saw the pile of dishes and messy state, I was overwhelmed. The question of “what’s for dinner?” from family members was especially frustrating. I started saying, “I can’t do this.” My daughter immediately said, “I will clean the kitchen.” I marveled at how soon she responded. I told her that that was great, but I also didn’t know how I was going to cook. I was so tired. I felt like I could fall asleep as I was standing there. She offered to cook too. I was thinking it over. I felt bad for her to do it all, so I offered to order and pick up Mexican food down the street.

After I got to the restaurant and ordered my food to-go, I had time to sit there and think. I just wanted to cry. I recognized my fragile mental state was Candida-related, but I was still overwhelmed. I was not only overwhelmed with my current list of things to do, but also with my body’s health state. How did things change for the worse? I was getting better. I couldn’t pinpoint any stressful event or anything I ate that would have triggered a negative response. That made me even more upset.

By Thursday afternoon, I was experiencing pre-yeast infection symptoms. I started my bath treatments. ¼ C. raw apple cider vinegar with the mother and warm water. I began to think of the recurring cycle. Did it follow any patterns? Sometimes I have ignored the beginning symptoms, hoping it would not amount to anything. It seemed like the last couple of times I relapsed, it started with brain fog and an unstable emotional state followed exhaustion. Then came the pre-yeast infection symptoms followed by pain or inflammation in the body.

Now I recognize the cycle. What’s next? I am honestly not sure. I am grateful to have an appointment with my chiropractor/nutritionist this week to see what advice she has for me. For now, I have to continue doing what I know is best. My no carb, no sugar, no caffeine, no dairy diet with increased probiotics and herbal antifungals is the way to encourage healing. I also think I have to be careful to have variety. It is easy to eat the same kind of food over and over, but I am sure it is best to have variety.  My go-to is nuts. I love cashews and almonds, but I can easily overdo it and miss out on the nutrients I could be getting from organic vegetables. Balancing my diet is key to success. I also delegated more at work this week to lighten my stress load.

I found a new recipe this week. This was a delicious surprise. I am adding this in closing to cheer myself up. I hope you enjoy it, too!

Chocolate Coconut Muffins:

https://paleobreakfast.com/recipe/chocolate-coconut-muffins/

Ingredients

Instructions

(I did not let the ingredients stand as the recipe states. I added a little almond milk as the recipe seemed a little dry. I patted them gently into “hamburger patty” shapes as this helps them hold together. I placed these in a ceramic muffin tin greased with unrefined coconut oil and baked them right away. I omitted the coconut sugar. It makes 6 muffins.)

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. Mix the flours with the cocoa, salt, and baking soda. In a separate bowl, whisk the coconut oil with the honey and eggs until well combined.
  3. Combine the wet and dry ingredients and let stand for 5 minutes. Scoop the batter into a greased muffin tin or use paper liners.
  4. Sprinkle with the coconut sugar and bake for 15-20 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.
Leave a Reply

