Lower Your Toxic Load With 6 HBA Recipes

Imagine your skin as a sponge, soaking up what you touch, to some extent.  Now imagine the harsh chemicals absorbing into your body. When we use harsh chemicals repeatedly, there are consequences whether or not they are apparent today or several years from now.

When I was growing up, I remember the concern about aluminum in deodorant. I also didn’t like the idea of plugging up my body with antiperspirants, but there didn’t seem to be an alternative for women. As I got older, I used All-Spice deodorant because it didn’t have aluminum. It didn’t have a female fragrance, but I considered it a trade-off for a better alternative.

After suffering from Candida, I have been researching more items to make at home that will eliminate or lower my toxic load. This is important to contribute to better health and sickness prevention overall.

I was skeptical about homemade deodorant, but it does work. I used lemon essential oil for its mood-boosting properties. I also love lemon. It was like “icing my armpits” with lemon frosting. Not as much pressure is needed to apply. I put it in old deodorant containers after making a batch. It “melts” into my skin as I apply it. The only downside is I sometimes get white powder on my shirt when I get dressed. It can be wiped off with a damp cloth. With the use of this new deodorant, I have noticed that my armpits aren’t as sensitive or itchy as they used to be.

Homemade Deodorant:

https://draxe.com/homemade-deodorant/

Total Time: 5 minutes

Serves: 30-90

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1/2 cup coconut oil
  • 1/2 cup baking soda
  • 40-60 drops essential oils – Choice of Scents
  • [Scent recommendations: Female oils scents (lavender, lemon, and sage) Male oils scents (cypress, rosemary, and bergamot)]
  • Empty deodorant containers

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Put coconut oil in bowl
  2. Mix in baking soda
  3. Add in essential oils
  4. Store in a deodorant container or in a glass jar

I have also been researching essential oils and their benefits. Not only can essential oils be applied to the body when mixed with a carrier oil, but they can also replace bathroom sprays. It is important to buy quality organic essential oils. Purchase dark glass spray bottles for air fresheners. They preserve the oils the best. I keep one in the car as well. Here is the basic recipe I use.

DIY Air Freshener Spray:

http://www.theprairiehomestead.com/2013/06/homemade-air-fresheners.html

INGREDIENTS:

  • 3/4 cup water(I use tap water, but distilled is fine too)
  • 2 tablespoons vodka, rubbing alcohol, or real vanilla extract
  • essential oil combinations (5-10 drops of each oil, depending on preference)

Combine in an 8oz spray bottle or break it up into several smaller spray bottles, shake well, and spray as needed.

You will find other fragrance combinations here: http://calmfulliving.com/project/make-your-own-aromatherapy-room-spray/

I found a great body wash from Dr. Axe. I use a BPA free plastic foaming container.

Homemade Body Wash:

Total Time: 2 minutes

Serves: 30

https://draxe.com/homemade-body-wash/

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 cup water
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 2/3 cup liquid Castille soap
  • 30 drops lavender oil, chamomile or geranium essential oils
  • 1 teaspoon vitamin E
  • 2 teaspoon jojoba oil
  • BPA free plastic lotion dispenser or glass bottle with dispenser

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Mix ingredients until smooth and store in 8 oz plastic bottle.

This homemade body lotion seems more like a body butter. It has done wonders for my dry feet that used to be cracked, dry elbows, flaky stomach, and overall dry skin. I sometimes use different essential oils like peppermint to improve the scent. It is best to be patient and allow the beeswax to melt completely. After solidifying in the refrigerator, it is beneficial to whip it thoroughly in order to enjoy a lighter product. Use conservatively when applying as a little goes a long way.

Homemade Frankincense and Myrrh Lotion:

https://draxe.com/homemade-frankincense-myrrh-lotion/

Total Time: 90 minutes

Serves: 30

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil
  • 1/4 cup beeswax
  • 1/4 cup shea butter
  • 2 tbsp vitamin E
  • 20 drops frankincense essential oil
  • 20 drops myrrh essential oil
  • BPA free plastic lotion dispenser bottles

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Put olive oil, coconut oil, beeswax and shea butter in a glass bowl then place that bowl in a saucepan with water.
  2. Heat stove to medium and mix ingredients together.
  3. Once mixed put in refrigerator for an hour until solid.
  4. With a regular mixer or hand mixer beat the mixture until it is whipped and fluffy. Then add essential oils and vitamin E and mix.
  5. Fill container and store in cool place.

Homemade Hand Soap:

https://draxe.com/homemade-hand-soap/

Total Time: 2 minutes

Serves: 30-60

INGREDIENTS:

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Mix soap and water. Add in oils and mix.
  2. Pour into the dispenser.

Hand Soap 2:

https://draxe.com/castile-soap/

Another option is to fill a foaming soap dispenser with 3/4 boiled or distilled water and ¼ liquid Castile soap. You can add 5 drops of tea tree essential oil for its antibacterial properties and lavender oil for its fragrant and relaxing scent. I like putting this one in a BPA free plastic foaming dispenser as well.

My goal is to always encourage the good bacteria in my body while maintaining cleanliness. Most hand soap today has become anti-bacterial. This kills the good bacteria on our hands along with the bad bacteria. When it comes to gut health, I want to make sure my HBA decisions are affecting it in a positive way. Lowering my toxic load by making my own products is a great way to do that. I hope this gives you lots of healthy alternatives.

 

Leave a Reply

