Finding Hope During The Candida Crisis

When I first embarked on this health journey, I naively thought this was temporary. Once I was healed from Candida, I was going to go back to my old life. If I worked hard enough, I could manage this.

I was listening to a message at church a couple of weeks ago, I was overwhelmed at what I heard. “This life is preparation for eternity.” What does it look like to live this life in preparation for eternity? Living my life in light of eternity reminds me that this is only temporary. I saw an illustration of a really long rope on a spool, being uncoiled down the aisle. The very end of the rope, maybe 2 inches, was wrapped in tape that the minister was holding onto. The taped part represented our time here on Earth and all the rest of the rope represented our time in eternity. Then he shook the rope from the taped part signifying that each action on the taped part ripples through eternity. Each action will lead to reward or regret in eternity. “The only suffering I will have to go through happens on the short, taped part of the rope.”

You can listen to the message if you would like: http://desertwindscc.org/filerequest/2725.mp3

I have been so wrapped up in my “defeat” or regression. It happens, but I have to remember that I have been called for a purpose. Without this illness, I would not have been able to help many people. I need to remember to rejoice in my suffering. “I consider that our present sufferings are not worth comparing with the glory that will be revealed in us.” Rom 8:18

I was driving to work three weeks ago, praying “Lord, please heal me.” In my desperation, that’s all I could repeat. In the silence, I heard “in your weakness, I am strong.” I kept thinking what does this mean for me? Am I always going to struggle with this affliction?  I looked up scripture that coincides with this. The apostle Paul repeatedly asked the Lord to heal him. “Three times I pleaded with the Lord to take it away from me. But he said to me, “’My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.’ Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.” 2 Corinthians 12:8-10

This is painful, but also hopeful. Facing sickness and not knowing the end time is difficult. Remembering that I was created for eternity where there will be no sickness or pain is an encouragement. Romans 10:9 says, “that if you confess with your mouth the Lord Jesus and believe in your heart that God has raised Him from the dead, you will be saved.”—that’s where I want to be! That is where you can be too.

I hope today, we can look beyond the pain. We can look towards eternity. I will continue to teach or share as much as I can through this blog, but in essence, this is all fluff compared to His glory. It is important for me to do my part, but His part is where the magic enters my story. The healing is in His hands and for His purposes.

Leave a Reply

