Food Is Medicine

The past couple of weeks have been going pretty well. I have been almost free of Candida symptoms. I have been keeping my diet strict with no carbs, no dairy, no sugar. Occasionally I will enjoy some berries or ½ green apple as those fruits have the lowest sugar content.

The last issue I remember blogging about was the bloating. It seems to happen every couple of weeks. My gut begins to extend outward until I look about 4 months pregnant. I have seen the chiropractor/nutritionist and my regular doctor. The chiropractor/nutritionist gave me a digestive enzyme to help my gall bladder break down fats, bile, and toxins. During my last visit, she said my digestion is getting better, but I still need the help of the enzyme. My regular doctor couldn’t find anything. I have been keeping a food journal again to see if I can recognize any food patterns that can be linked with this issue. Along with writing down my food and drinks, I write how I feel that day, bowel movements, gut measurements, and anything unusual. Out of the 2 weeks I have been doing this, I am still not sure that any food sensitivity is causing this. The bloating hasn’t been nearly as bad since I started keeping the journal. I will try a little longer, and I should probably keep track of my hours of sleep as well. The amount of sleep I get affects digestion as well.

It is so beneficial to have a functional medicine doctor. Functional medicine involves treating the whole individual and not just symptoms. “Jeffrey Bland, Ph.D., known as “the father of functional medicine,” explains it this way: ‘We need to move beyond asking what drug will treat the symptoms, and instead ask what mechanism creates altered neurochemical or neurobiological function or systemic physiological change.’”

Sometimes, aliments are not detectable by regular medical testing. I was so frustrated when I was struggling and no one could help me. All the tests were coming back normal and yet I felt like a walking zombie with chronic pain. Something had to be wrong. Thank God, I was finally able to see someone who could identify the problem. It has been invaluable to see the chiropractor/nutritionist not only for the first diagnosis, but also handle any other issues that pop up. We use food and natural supplements as medicine.

I really think our culture needs to change its attitude toward food if we want to change our health trajectory. Food is medicine. Over time, our bodies will either give out from being fed poor nutrients over the years or they will be sustained and fight illnesses that come our way. It’s not about length of life necessarily, but about the quality of life.

Mung beans are a great medicine food. You can read about mung bean health benefits here: https://draxe.com/mung-beans-nutrition/ I found a great recipe that the kids even love. You can add more seasoning as desired.

Avocado and Bio-Mung Bean Hummus

http://www.shashabread.com/recipes

Ingredients:

Bio-Bud mung beans washed, fully drained, and cooked

  • 2 medium ripe avocados, cored and peeled
  • 4 Tbsp olive oil, plus more for serving if desired
  • 2 Tbsp tahini
  • 1 fresh lime juice
  • 1 clove garlic, peeled
  • ½ Tsp Himalayan Salt
  • 1/2Tsp and freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/2Tsp freshly ground cumin
  • 3 Tbsp finely chopped cilantro leaves

Directions:

Add Bio-Bud mung beans, olive oil, tahini, lime juice, and garlic in a food processor until smooth, about 2 minutes. Season with salt and pepper to taste (I did a scant 1/2 tsp. salt and about 1/8 tsp. pepper), add cumin and avocados and pulse mixture until smooth and creamy, about 1 – 2 minutes longer. Serve topped with more olive oil and sprinkle with cilantro and red pepper flakes or you can also blend the cilantro along with the other ingredients.

If you are trying to adhere to a Candida or low carb diet, serve with raw vegetables. Jicama is amazing with hummus. It has so many health benefits. You can read more about Jicama’s health benefits here: https://draxe.com/jicama/ I also love snap peas with this.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

